wechat sharing

The 2011 Readers' Choice Awards: The Final Results

**Well Shanghai, the time has come. We tallied up the votes and weeded out the spammers--and then, last night, City Weekend dished out the 2011 Reader's Choice Awards to the top bars and restaurants in Shanghai. Who came out on top? The results may surprise you, although others are total no brainers.**

Nightlife

Bar of the Year
Winner: [el Cóctel](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/el-coctel/)
Honorable Mention: [Bar Rouge](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/nightclub/has/bar-rouge/)
Editor's Pick: [Lola](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/lola/)
Best New Bar
Winner: [Alchemist Cocktail Kitchen](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/alchemist-cocktail-and-kitchen/)
Honorable Mention: [The Apartment](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/the-apartment/)
Editor's Pick: [Shiva Lounge](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/shiva-lounge/)
Club of the Year
Winner: [M1NT](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/contests/2011-club-year/3199/)
Honorable Mention: [M2](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/nightclub/has/muse-ii/)
Editor's Pick: [The Shelter](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/nightclub/has/the-shelter/)
Best Cocktails
Winner: [el Cóctel](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/el-coctel/)
Honorable Mention: [M1NT](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/contests/2011-club-year/3199/)
Editor's Pick: [Fulton Place](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/european/has/fulton-place/)
Best Hotel Bar
Winner: [VUE Bar](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/hyatt-on-the-bund-vue-bar/)
Honorable Mention: [Flair Rooftop Restaurant & Bar](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/flair-rooftop-restaurant-bar/)
Editor's Pick: [The Long Bar at the Waldorf](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/the-long-bar-at-the-waldorf-astoria/)
Best DJ
Winner: [Ben Huang](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/shanghaidj/has/dj-ben-huang/)
Honorable Mention: [Acid Pony Club](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/shanghaidj/has/acid-pony-club/)
Editor's Pick: [Jane Siesta](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/shanghaidj/has/dj-jane-siesta/)
Best View
Winner: [The House of Roosevelt](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/wine_spirits/has/the-house-of-roosevelt/)
Honorable Mention: [VUE Bar](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/hyatt-on-the-bund-vue-bar/)
Editor's Pick: [Flair Rooftop Restaurant & Bar](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/bars/has/flair-rooftop-restaurant-bar/)
Best Band
Winner: [Lions of Puxi](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/shband/has/lions-of-puxi/)
Honorable Mention: [X is Y](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/contests/2011-best-band/3556/)
Editor's Pick: [Rainbow Danger Club](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/nightlife/shband/has/rainbow-danger-club/)


Restaurants

Best Restaurant
Winner: [Mr and Mrs Bund](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/french/has/mr-and-mrs-bund/)
Honorable Mention: [el Willy](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/spanish/has/diage/)
Honorable Mention: [Simply Thai](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/thai/has/simply-thai-xintiandi/)
Editor's Pick: [The House of Roosevelt](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/wine_spirits/has/the-house-of-roosevelt/)
Editor's Pick: [Goga](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/american/has/goga/)
Best Newcomer
Winner: [Goga](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/american/has/goga/)
Honorable Mention: [Table No. 1 by Jason Atherton](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/fusion/has/table-no-1-jason-atherton/)
Editor's Pick: [Madison](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/american/has/madison/)
Best Chef
Winner: [El Willy](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/bestchef/has/el-willy/)
Honorable Mention: [Paul Pairet](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/bestchef/has/paul-pairet/)
Editor's Pick: [Brad Turley](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/bestchef/has/brad-turley/)
Best Service
Winner: [Element Fresh](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/american/has/element-fresh/)
Honorable Mention: [Pelham's](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/american/has/pelhams/)
Editor's Pick: [Madison](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/american/has/madison/)
Best Contemporary Chinese
Winner: [Lost Heaven Yunnan Folk Cuisine](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/contests/2011-best-contemporary-chinese/3715/)
Honorable Mention: [Lynn Modern](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/contemporary/has/lynn-modern-shanghai-cuisine/)
Editor's Pick: [Xindalu China Kitchen](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/beijing/has/xindalu-china-kitchen/)
Best European
Winner: [M on the Bund](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/fusion/has/m-on-the-bund/)
Honorable Mention: [Dining Room](link)
Editor's Pick: [Table No. 1 by Jason Atherton](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/fusion/has/table-no-1-jason-atherton/)
Best American
Winner: [Boxing Cat Brewery](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/american/has/boxing-cat-brewery/)
Honorable Mention: [Element Fresh](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/american/has/element-fresh/)
Editor's Pick: [Madison](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/american/has/madison/)
Best Latin American
Winner: [Latina](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/latin_american/has/latina3/)
Honorable Mention: [Cantina Agave](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/mexican/has/cantina-agave/)
Editor's Pick: [MAYA](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/mexican/has/MAYA/)
Best Spicy Chinese
Winner: [Gu Yi](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/hunan/has/gu-yi/)
Honorable Mention: [Di Shui Dong](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/hunan/has/di-shui-dong1/)
Editor's Pick: [Pin Chuan](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/sichuan/has/pin-chuan/)
Best Brunch
Winner: [Element Fresh](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/american/has/element-fresh/)
Honorable Mention: [Le Bistrot All-Day Dining Restaurant](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/cafes/has/le-bistrot-all-day-dining-restaurant/)
Editor's Pick: [Jing'an Restaurant](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/european/has/jingan-restaurant/)
Best Hotel Dining
Winner: [Jing'an Restaurant](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/european/has/jingan-restaurant/)
Honorable Mention: [Tables](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/fusion/has/tables/)
Editor's Pick: [Sir Elly](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/european/has/sir-ellys-restaurant/)
Best Cafe
Winner: [Wagas](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/cafes/has/wagas-jiaozhou-lu/)
Honorable Mention: [Baker & Spice](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/cafes/has/baker-spice/)
Editor's Pick: [Stormy Café](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/cafes/has/stormy-cafe/)
Best Japanese
Winner: [Haiku by Hatsune](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/japanese/has/haiku-by-hatsune/)
Honorable Mention: [Sushi Oyama](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/japanese/has/sushi-oyama/)
Editor's Pick: [Shintori](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/contests/2011-best-japanese/3114/)
Best Southeast Asian
Winner: [Simply Thai](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/thai/has/simply-thai-xintiandi/)
Honorable Mention: [Pho Real](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/vietnamese/has/pho-real/)
Editor's Pick: [Coconut Paradise Thai Cuisine](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/thai/has/coconut-paradise-thai-cuisine/)
Best Steakhouse
Winner: [Morton's Steakhouse](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/steakhouses/has/mortons-steakhouse/)
Honorable Mention: [JW's California Grill](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/steakhouses/has/jws-california-grill1/)
Editor's Pick: [Roosevelt Prime Steakhouse](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/steakhouses/has/roosevelt-prime-steakhouse/)
Best French
Winner: [Mr & Mrs Bund](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/french/has/mr-and-mrs-bund/)
Honorable Mention: [La Table by Maison](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/french/has/maision-pourcel/)
Editor's Pick: [Jean Georges](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/french/has/jean-georges-restaurant/)
Best Italian
Winner: [Da Marco](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/italian/has/da-marco/)
Honorable Mention: [Danieli's Italian Restaurant](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/italian/has/danieli-s-italian-restaurant/)
Editor's Pick: [The Kitchen Salvatore Cuomo](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/italian/has/the-kitchen/)
Best Dessert
Winner: [hoF](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/wine_spirits/has/bar-and-brasserie-pudong/)
Honorable Mention: [Whisk Choco Café](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/cafes/has/whisk-choco-cafe/)
Editor's Pick: [Strictly Cookies](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/delivery/has/strictly-cookies/)
Best Mediterranean
Winner: [el Willy](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/spanish/has/diage/)
Honorable Mention: [Cristal Restaurant](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/mediterranean/has/cristal-restaurant-and-bar/)
Editor's Pick: [Mr Willis](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/mediterranean/has/mr-willis/)
Best Indian
Winner: [Masala Art](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/indian/has/masala-art/)
Honorable Mention: [Vedas](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/indian/has/vedas/)
Editor's Pick: [Chor Bazaar](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/shanghai/listings/dining/indian/has/chor-bazaar--new-indian-restaurant/)

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

ktga summerfest overview

By: Wansien Lee -

The KTGA Summerfest is Happening This Weekend
Kick The Gong Around (KTGA) is back with their famous bi-annual festival series. Expect another packed weekend of fun, live music and delicious nibbles at the KTGA Summer Fest. And City Weekend is...
Read More
naked retreats moganshan

By: Audrey Chen -

11 Places to Stay in Moganshan
Looking for a weekend trip away from Shanghai? Here's a list of places to stay in Moganshan.
Read More
Uncle Sam

By: Rachel Gouk -

Calling For Contestants: Pie Eating Contest at Lil' Laundry
Fourth of July bash at Lil' Laundry—pie eating contest, more than 10 food and drink vendors and live music. 
Read More

Comments

Download App Now
Select your device platform and get download started
Add & Promote an Event
Tell everybody what's going on. FREE.

You've reached the limit of allowed deals. For more information

Contact us

You've reached the limit of allowed housing listing. For more information

Contact us