wechat sharing

Carsick Cars Play Final Show?

In a brief statement made around 3:12 am to their 6,000-odd [douban](http://www.douban.com) users, just hours after opening for [The Raveonettes](http://www.douban.com/artist/theraveonettes) at [Yugong Yishan](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/beijing/listings/nightlife/live_music/has/yugong-yishan/) in Beijing, Beijing indie-noise trio [Carsick Cars](http://www.douban.com/artist/carsickcars) officially announced the departure of founding members, drummer Li Qing and bassist Li Weisi. A surprising move for a band that quickly vaulted up the Beijing rock ladder, Carsick Cars made their mark as a staple of the [D-22](http://www.cityweekend.com.cn/beijing/listings/nightlife/live_music/has/d-22/) / [Maybe Mars](http://www.maybemars.com) / No Beijing stable of bands, releasing two well-received albums between 2007-2009, playing important slots at basically every major Chinese festival, and touring abroad to play at Spain's Primavera Sound, Austin's SxSw and co-headlining a [landmark tour in New York in November 2009](http://newyork.timeout.com/music-nightlife/music/54468/carsick-cars-pk14) with labelmates [P.K. 14](http://www.douban.com/artist/pk14). While chief sonic architect / guitarist Zhang Shou Wang plans on re-tooling the line-up and continuing CsC, history points at other bands that have tried similar feats, limping to the finish line: The Clash minus Mick Jones, Misfits sans Danzig, Smashing Pumpkins without James and D'Arcy, Slash-less Guns n' Roses. For their part, the two Lis will continue on as part of [Snapline](http://www.douban.com/artist/snapline) and as the analog synth duo [Soviet Pop](http://www.douban.com/artist/sovietpop). Don't quite call it a funeral, but it's now fair to be skeptical about the future of Carsick Cars. Any voices in the crowd have any favorite Carsick Cars moments or anecdotes they'd like to share? photo by 任航

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

111

By: Wansien Lee -

Housing Hunt: What's Available in Shanghai
So what's available on our Housing Section this week? Here's a peek.
Read More
liquid laundry mac and cheese

By: Elysia Bagley -

Shanghai's Top Macaroni and Cheese
We loosen our belts a notch for Shanghai's best versions of the quintessential American comfort food—mac and cheese.  
Read More
sense 8 shanghai restaurant

By: Rachel Gouk -

Check Please: Gourmet Library, The Picnic, Sense 8
In here we spotlight event space and studio kitchen Gourmet Library, unremarkable cafe The Picnic, and the third location of fancy-schmancy Cantonese restaurant Sense 8.
Read More
pudong heqing country park 3

By: Wansien Lee -

News: Pudong is Building a Massive Seaside Country Park
The Heqing Country Park will be located adjacent to Pudong International Airport, and will be roughly the size of 3,500 football fields.
Read More

Comments

Comments

Claire Miles's picture

Claire Miles

A brief statement made at 3:12AM? It sounds like these guys had a drunken barney at the after party and one of them jumped online in the heat of the moment. I really hope that this is just a false alarm...
Download App Now
Select your device platform and get download started
Add & Promote an Event
Tell everybody what's going on. FREE.

You've reached the limit of allowed deals. For more information

Contact us

You've reached the limit of allowed housing listing. For more information

Contact us