wechat sharing

JSmiles Dental

Suite 1206, Westgate Plaza, 1038 Nanjing Xi Lu
3530-6320
Overall
Editor
Editor Rating (Review): 
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)
Address:
Suite 1206, Westgate Plaza, 1038 Nanjing Xi Lu
Address in Chinese:
南京西路1038号梅龙镇广场1206室
Nearest Metro Station:
West Nanjing Road
Cross Street in English:
near Jiangning Lu
Cross Street in Chinese:
近江宁路
Opening Hours:
Tue-Sat: 9:30am-6pm
Phone:
3530-6320
Category:
Features:
Neighborhood:
Posted by:

Description

Jsmiles Dental is a private dental clinic founded and operated by Dr. Tommy Ma, an American dentist. All aspects of general dentistry are offered at Jsmiles, including expertise on cosmetic, implant, and orthodontic dental treatment. With Dr. Ma’s American dental training, experience and expertise, you can expect him to bring the latest advanced dental technology and most comprehensive dental service to China.

TAG Dental
  • Google
  • Baidu
Google Map: 
Shanghai
Maximize Map
Baidu Map: 
Maximize Map

Pictures

行车线路 - Taxi Directions

请带我过去


Cross Street in English:

Suite 1206, Westgate Plaza, 1038 Nanjing Xi Lu, near Jiangning Lu


Cross Street in Chinese:

南京西路1038号梅龙镇广场1206室, 近江宁路


Phone:
3530-6320

Comments

Comments

aloune

Went to Jsmiles for dental check-up and cleaning. I am followed by Doctor Peter Chua, who has practised for more 20 years, in USA and Taiwan. Cleaning went well. Price is on the high range, higher than big European cities, but service is good. Doctor Chua took the time to explain and educate, and even came on Sunday to assist us for the CT scan. Found out that I need to get removed all my wisdom teeth(surgery needed), which will be this week. To be continued...
Service: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Value: 
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

skim512

I am actually a long term patient of Jsmiles and Dr. Ma, been pretty regular since 2011. I have had fillings, regular cleanings, including deep cleanings, and Angelalign, the Chinese version of Invislign. I can pretty safely say that I've experienced most of the treatments from the clinic and it's been a great of an experience as one can have in a dental office. I'm super happy with the treatment I've received from his entire staff from the front of the house to the nurses and Dr. Ma himself. Based on reading the reviewer below, I'm surprised about the experience they had as I totally have had the opposite experience (which is awesome) over the course of 3 years. First, I totally disagree it is a dirty environment- I tend to err on the side of a germaphobe and I've never seen or felt like the office or anything was close to being on the dirty side. If anything, it's been pretty well maintained and love the fact that they have really modern equipment including the tv screens and the headphones so i can watch tv/movies while getting work done. In regards to the treatment, I can only speak for myself but yes, I also got bleeding gums... but I also had gum disease which totally sucked and I need continual treatment because I didn't really follow-through with the maintenance even when Dr. Ma warned me and showed me how to "properly" brush and floss. I have to say Dr. Ma doesn't mince words, he tells it like it is but he also doesn't make you feel horrible either. Overall, I've recommended the clinic to a number of my friends. Yes, it's on the expensive side compared to some of the more local clinics but in this case, I really do feel like you get what you pay for and I'm pretty pleased with my teeth. :D
Service: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Value: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
jsmilesdental's picture

jsmilesdental

Dr. Ma here, sorry you had such a horrible experience and misunderstanding of our clinic. I am responding to you out of professional courtesy. Please help yourself by reading the following links about periodontal disease and the periodontal probing that I administered for you. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Periodontal_examination http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bleeding_on_probing http://www.dentaldiseases.org/conditions/gums/periodontal-exam-probing.htm http://health.cvs.com/GetContent.aspx?token=f75979d3-9c7c-4b16-af56-3e122a3f19e3&chunkiid=20001 http://www.colgateprofessional.ca/patienteducation/Periodontitis--Pocketing-And-Bleeding-On-Probing/image I give every patient the same standard of care, and I sympathize that apparently no other dentists have done this periodontal screening for you in all the clinics which you have visited. I am an American who grew up in the USA, and happen to speak fluent Chinese too, but as most people know, without formal Chinese training, speaking fluently doesn't mean that I can read Chinese names. I sincerely apologize if you misinterpreted my reason for asking your English name. In the future, I will make an effort to ask my nurse to pronounce Chinese names and try to remember them to the best of my ability. Now you are obviously in a very emotional state, so I want to reach out and ask you to come back to our clinic and give us a chance to calmly reason and explain your situation and maybe your opinion of Jsmiles will be more positive.
Service: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Value: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

loulou123

I'm not the first one who has complained about this clinic. I feel that this place has acted ridiculously towards me. I went to clinics in London, New York and Shanghai. It's very clear that JSmiles discriminates against customers by nationality. What a horrible place. You think that because I'm Chinese, you can treat me rudely and try to block my comments on Cityweekend? Why are you so afraid of my comments if you didn't dig around my teeth to make each of them bleeding? You loudly state my nationality to make sure that the expats who read your reply will think they will be treated nicely, and only the Chinese customers who go to your clinic are treated that badly. JSmile's doctor digs at your teeth till bleeding when he is not happy with you. Be careful if you think you want to go there. In fact, the doctor appears Chinese, and can speak Chinese perfectly. Surprisingly, this Chinese doctor has difficulty in calling customers by their Chinese names. I do not have different names in different languages. I thought it was very rude when the doctor could not even make an effort to use my given name. If your clinic cannot provide good service, then of course customers will choose prestigious clinics. Your clinic claims high standards of cleanliness, while having a filthy floor.
Service: 
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
Value: 
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
Quality: 
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
jsmilesdental's picture

jsmilesdental

Continued response to Luoluo123, Our staff is quite pleasant and accommodating so we have no idea why you would vaguely point them out negatively in your review. But we will make them aware of this complaint and ask them to improve on their attitude and customer service. We take pride in keeping our clinic clean and this is the first complaint we have ever heard about "black stain" based on your two reviews which were very inconsistent regarding where exactly you saw the "black stain". If you did see a "black stain", we think you would have left the clinic and not proceeded to complete the appointment. Perhaps you are not sure about what you saw, but to reassure you, we want you to know that we take sterilization of dental instruments as our top priority and we are in full compliance of all standards expected of us. At Jsmiles, our goal is to offer comprehensive dental diagnosis and high quality dental treatment. If you disagree with our philosophy, then please move on and find a clinic you are comfortable with and let other patients come and judge Jsmiles for themselves. Posting such vicious lies and subjective comments only misleads others seeking comprehensive quality dental care. If you had a complaint, it would have been proper to address it directly with us instead of bypassing any dialogue and posting libel on CityWeekend. We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding you might have had about our clinic and hope our response gives you closure.
Service: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Value: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
jsmilesdental's picture

jsmilesdental

In response to Loulou123, We think the reason your original post was deleted by the online editor is because it was very obvious libel and advertisement for another dental clinic, therefore, we didn't bother to respond, instead we just simply reported your review to the editor. We are surprised you posted another revised review shortly after the first one just got deleted. We don't understand your intention, so we have decided to respond to your comments in hopes that you will get the closure which you are seeking. With regards to both reviews, we would like to clarify some points and share our thoughts and understanding on this issue with other readers. We read both of your reviews very carefully and wondered why anyone would repost a revised version of comments as you did, even after the CityWeekend editor deleted the first post. We have concluded that you are either truly hurt by an innocent question asking if you had an English name and believe treatment at Jsmiles is unnecessary or too expensive compared to local Chinese clinics, or you might be affiliated with another dental clinic involved in propagating slander and libel. We will give you the benefit of the doubt and hope you are not involved in the defamation of Jsmiles and will sincerely respond to the issues you brought up in your comments. You are obviously Chinese based on your original post that you said we asked if you had an English name as we do with all Chinese patients. Our foreign doctors ask this because Chinese names are difficult for them to pronounce and remember. No one was "mocking” you when they asked for your English name and we will routinely ask the patient to spell it if we cannot understand their pronunciation. We sincerely apologize if this offended you. Please understand what periodontal disease is and how it is diagnosed before you accuse our dentist of being rough and misdiagnosis. What you exaggeratedly described in your review is called periodontal probing which measures how much bone loss and how advanced the gum disease has progressed. You will definitely bleed and there will be discomfort when probed if you have periodontal disease, please ask any American dentist or hygienist to confirm this. It is a fact that most local Chinese dentists do not diagnose periodontal disease which might explain why you think you do not have periodontal disease because you were probably never screened for it. You were probably surprised when we told you lack of flossing contributes to periodontal disease. The other supplemental tool helpful to confirm this diagnosis is with X-rays which you strongly opposed in your original posting and we respected your decision for whatever personal reason. Also we want readers to know that periodontal disease treatment doesn't cost 20k rmb as you were trying to imply. You must have many other dental problems which the dentist diagnosed and included in your treatment plan.
Service: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Value: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

loulou123

Reposting, as somehow my review was removed... I went there July 4th for a routine cleaning, using a gift card that I had received. When I entered the exam room, I noticed that it was quite unorganized, and several of the cleaning machines had black stains on their surfaces. The doctor entered, and began to work. I was surprised by how rough he was. He jabbed my gums with his tool to the point that they bled profusely, and told me that I would need a special gum treatment package. How about not stabbing me repeatedly in the gums? That would work just fine for me. His 'chair side' manner also leaves much to be desired. When I finished, they presented me with a suggested treatment package that was more than 20,000rmb! I was quite shocked, as I had a recent checkup where my regular dentist did not mention any of the problems that they did. I was very displeased with the treatment I received and the general attitude of the staff. I certainly will not be returning.
Service: 
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
Value: 
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
Quality: 
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)

specialk787148301

This is an update of my previously written review. First off, i would like to adress my rating for Jsmiles. Initially, I didn't notice there was a rating system and that it defaults to three stars out of five if it isn't changed. This can be misleading so I appologize for any confusion that it may have caused. Jsmiles definitely deserves 5/5 stars. Secondly I would like to thank Jsmiles for giving my son a very nervous at first, but the cartoons were a great distraction.The staff was very understanding and firendly, and Zack even received a small toy at the end of the visit which he likes a lot. It is such a big releif to get through Zach's first dental visit without it being a traumatic experience.
Service: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Value: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

london_guitarist

I came in for routine cleaning. this was my first visit and was impressed with the facilities. The staff were very friendly and the dentist was professional, efficient and he spoke very good english. I enjoyed my time watching a movie while the dentist was inspecting my teeth. I would recommend any expat to visit Jsmiles for any oral healthcare.
Service: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Value: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

specialk787148301

Pretty pleased, spoke to them on the online chat thing they have on the website and they managed to put me through to a dentist before I had even come in. I also made my appointment this way. the clinic is very close to my office on West Nanjing rd. i hadnt been to a dentist for over 3 yrs so was a bit apprenhensive as to what I would need in terms of dental treatment. Dentist was from London and did a full check up and took some x-rays and explained everything to me. Needed 2 Fillings which I had done there and then which was interesting since I got to put on some headphones and listen to my own music (hate the sound of a drill). In terms of price, my insurance (Cigna) pays 80% so my bill came to 484RMB, around same charge as back home in the US.
Service: 
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
Value: 
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
Quality: 
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)

marlyn

My husband is normally a very picky person. However, he loved the dentist here, Dr. Oscar is very patient and meticulous. We both felt it was a pleasant experience with the clinic and the staffs.
Service: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Value: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
teamevents's picture

teamevents

Hold onto your wallet. High end operation with high end prices. One thing I didn't like was the receptionist told me the Xray was 400rmb on the phone but it was 650rmb on the bill. Annoying.
Service: 
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
Value: 
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
Quality: 
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
jsmilesdental's picture

jsmilesdental

Dear teamevents, We are sorry to hear that you were charged differently than what you were quoted over the phone. It sounds like you were charged for a Panoramic X-ray instead of a Full Mouth X-ray series. In the future to avoid confusion, we will ask our receptionist to give a quote for both kinds of X-rays when giving quotes over the phone. We understand why you are annoyed and would like to refund you the difference charged for the Panoramic X-ray instead of the Full Mouth X-ray series.
Service: 
0
No votes yet
Value: 
0
No votes yet
Quality: 
0
No votes yet
jsmilesdental's picture

jsmilesdental

Hi, this is Dr. Tommy Ma responding to 52weekhigh's review posted 03/22/2013. Thank you for the positive comments about me! I spoke to our receptionist about this complaint and she thinks there might have been mis-communication between you, her and your husband. We don't give commission to our receptionists for pushing current promotions so please don't think that she was trying to push services for her benefit. I've spoken to our staff about this situation and we are going to do everything we can to make sure this doesn't happen again. Please give us another chance and we will give you and your husband a big discount to make it worth your while. Please call me personally if you have any other concerns. Best Wishes, Dr. Ma
Service: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Value: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
anonymous's picture

anonymous

My two front teeth was both chipped due to my habbit of eating sun flower seeds alot before, I have been to so many dental cinics, they all indirectly refuse to fix them for me saying the filling wont stay. However, Dr. Ma did an amazing job helping me fix the front teeth, and I really wish i can upload my "before and after". Thank you Jsmiles, you really made me smile:)
Service: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Value: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

52weekhigh

I personally think the dentist here is awesome. Love his work and his personality. But recently I made an appt for my husband to get his teeth cleaned. And when he went in, they gave him that, and a whitening, which I never made an appt for. When I called the receptionist to complain, she totally played us off each other, saying, 'oh, when I called to confirm the appt with your husband, I mentioned our new promotion and he said he wanted it.' Well, my husband, who hates going to the dentist and would never order any extra services, especially a 2hr one, told me the receptionist said I wanted him to have it! She must have gotten a nice commission....That being said, we will never go back.
Service: 
1
Average: 1 (1 vote)
Value: 
3
Average: 3 (1 vote)
Quality: 
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)

sawthemoff

I now found the best dentist in shanghai!!I went there last Satuurday to have my teeth pulled..did not hurt at all...Dr.ma truly has a pair of golden hands..Its's in the office buliding of the Westgate mall which was closed for the weekend..it was a little difficult to find..other than that..it was a superb experience..
Service: 
0
No votes yet
Value: 
0
No votes yet
Quality: 
0
No votes yet
let_me_help's picture

let_me_help

Coolest dentist office I've seen in Shanghai by far! Very nice cozy set up with private rooms that have a view. It is an office that makes you comfortable, even if you don't like going to the dentist. When my treatment was about to begin, Dr. Ma gave me a set of Bose headphones and let me choose from quite the selection of movies or tv shows they had in their computer system. The display was positioned so I could comfortable watch anything on the screen while lounged back in the chair. I was also able to see my dental records on this screen while Dr Ma and I went over any issues I have/may have a had with my teeth. Not only was the office impressive, but he was very knowledgeable and thorough with communicating areas of oral care. It is good to know that there is a dentist in Shanghai that is on the watch for preventative care instead of just fixing a problem when it gets to the worst stage possible (extraction). Trustworthy for sure!
Service: 
0
No votes yet
Value: 
0
No votes yet
Quality: 
0
No votes yet

zng

I was actually a patient of Tommy or Dr Ma back in Atlanta, and was pleasantly surprised to find that he was also here in Shanghai! I have since been to 2 deep cleaning sessions with him after I had issues with bleeding gums and have since noticed a big improvement. He did very thorough checks each time and took the time to explain to me what I need to watch out for and the importance of flossing properly. The office is also conveniently located at Mei Long Mall, right across from nanjing west subway station. However, what I really like was that the clinic was only 15mins walking distance from my place in Jingan. By and large, I was really getting worried about getting proper dental care in China and I am really glad to have found that my dentist has followed me here!
Service: 
0
No votes yet
Value: 
0
No votes yet
Quality: 
0
No votes yet
xiao_k's picture

xiao_k

I bought Jsmile's 200 kuai voucher for teeth cleaning on City Weekend and was very pleased with the experience. The dentists -both Mr Ma and Ms Fang- were very professional and really good at explaining thoroughly what they were doing and in what condition my teeth were. I enjoyed watching a movie while having my teeth cleaned. It was amazing! Best dentist office I've ever been too, and great service from everyone working there!
Service: 
0
No votes yet
Value: 
0
No votes yet
Quality: 
0
No votes yet

xksb

I have to say, this place is pricey, but well worth the dough if you want a good cleaning. I've been to Chinese dentists providing cleaning for around RMB 200, but they are no where as thorough as Dr. Ma. The technology they have are superb. I was offered headphones with classical, English or Chinese music whilst undergoing a not-so-enjoyable procedure. The receptionist is incredibly personable and it's worthwhile to pay more for a good thorough cleaning as opposed to risking gum disease. I wouldn't necessarily try the Chinese female dentist either, but Dr. Ma is quite professional.
Service: 
0
No votes yet
Value: 
0
No votes yet
Quality: 
0
No votes yet
peterbush's picture

peterbush

My wife and I bought a Flashbuy on City Weekend for teeth cleaning at Jsmiles and we found out that this was a great deal + a really good clinic. The receptionist was very kind and she spoke very good English. She offered us drinks as soon as we arrived. The clinic is modern, clean and well organized. Teeth cleaning was good and relaxing, while listening to some nice music, with a Bose headset on. The owner, Tommy (American), did the check-up and he surely knows his stuff and gave us both good suggestions on how to take better care of our teeths etc. Their service was very good too. At the end they gave us both a Gift Card worth RMB 300 each, which was quite nice - considering that we came with a cheap Flashbuy deal. Very kind of them! All in all, if you are looking for a good dentist in Shanghai this is a great option - location is also perfect, which is same building where Isetan is located on Nanjing Lu. My wife and I have surely found our local dentist now. Well done Jsmiles!
Service: 
0
No votes yet
Value: 
0
No votes yet
Quality: 
0
No votes yet

rabbithair

I recently moved to Shanghai from Atlanta. It was such a surprise when I found out my old dentist, Dr. Ma, back in Atlanta has moved over and opened a clinic here! The world is getting so small! It is the same good experience just like back home. I will recommend Dr. Ma for anyone looking for quality dental services here.
Service: 
0
No votes yet
Value: 
0
No votes yet
Quality: 
0
No votes yet

rogrogsteve

I just cannot express how happy I was to find Dr. Tommy Ma in Shanghai. I've been to so many "western style" dental clinics in Shanghai and had been disappointed time and time again. I felt brushing my teeth at home was more effective than the cleanings I got from these "western style" dental clinics. Dr. Ma did a very thorough exam and found out my gums where infected. He spent a good hour explaining to me why I got periodontal disease and how to treat it. I also found out Dr. Ma owns his own clinic in Atlanta and actually grew up in the US and went to dental school there. That totally explains to my why the level of dental service and knowledge is unlike anything else in Shanghai. I'm sharing my experience because I am sure there are many other people seeking better dental care in Shanghai.
Service: 
0
No votes yet
Value: 
0
No votes yet
Quality: 
0
No votes yet
Download App Now
Select your device platform and get download started
Add & Promote an Event
Tell everybody what's going on. FREE.

You've reached the limit of allowed deals. For more information

Contact us

You've reached the limit of allowed housing listing. For more information

Contact us